Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Euro 2020

Gareth Southgate ‘to be KNIGHTED’ regardless of Euro 2020 result as he takes England to first final in 55 years

GARETH Southgate will be knighted even if England loses Sunday’s Euro 2020 final.

Regardless of the result, Southgate, 50, will reportedly see his OBE that was awarded in 2019 and upgraded to a CBE honour.

 Follow ALL of the latest news and updates from Euro 2020 with our live blog

Gareth Southgate is widely expected to be knighted if England beat Italy

England beat Denmark 2-1 on Wednesday night in a historic victory as skipper Harry Kane scored the winner in extra time.

The Daily Mail reports a source confirming even if England fails to beat Italy to lift their first major trophy for 55 years Southgate will be honoured. 

Alf Ramsey was knighted in 1967 after England’s World Cup win.

Some believe that Harry Kane, the captain, is also in line for a knighthood.

Harry Kane, 27, is also tipped to add to his MBE should England defeat Italy on Sunday The same goes for Raheem Sterling, 26, who is also an MBE. 

Other squad members with MBEs are Marcus Rashford, 23, and Jordan Henderson, 31, who are MBEs.

Boris Johnson has praised Southgate’s leadership.

He said: “Clearly Gareth Southgate has done an absolutely outstanding job.

“What seems so amazing to me is how he varies it, he mixes it up, he plays a different series of options depending on the match in question.”

Harry Kane could see his MBE upgraded

England fans have called for Gareth Southgate to be knighted after he guided the Three Lions to their first final in 55 years.

One user suggested: “The Right Honourable Sir Gareth Southgate, Prime Minister, please!”

A second said: “It’ll be Sir Gareth Southgate if we win it!”

While a third concluded: “Arise Sir Gareth Southgate. Not just a great manager, but an inclusive and inspirational leader. Well done England.”

Another fan said: “Actually love the bloke. Sir Gareth Southgate – make it happen.”

One fan gushed: “One win from Sir Gareth Southgate.”

Former England rugby manager Clive Woodward received a knighthood after his team won the World Cup in 2003 — though the squad was given lesser honours. 

Other England football legends have had to wait years for a knighthood, including the World Cup-winning 1966 team. 

Bobby Moore, the captain, was appointed OBE but never received a knighthood before his death in 1993.

Meanwhile only two of the ’66 starting line-up received knighthoods. Sir Bobby Charlton received his in 1994, while Geoff Hurst, who bagged a hat-trick in the final against West Germany, was not knighted until 1998.

England Manager Alf Ramsey (left) celebrates his team’s 1966 4-2 victory in extra time over West Germany in the World Cup Final at Wembley Stadium