HORSERACING fans were left stunned after a jockey in America pulled of an “absolutely unbelievable” mid-race move.
But it didn’t end well – JC Villanueva and his mount Drinkroundthetruth were disqualified at Ruidoso Downs in New Mexico.
Punters wouldn’t have believed what was about to happen at Ruidoso
JC Villanueva is seen pushing his hand out to separate his horse from the rival
As a result of the jockey’s move, horse Drinkroundthetruth held on to be first past the post
As Villanueva comes around the bend, he struggled to keep his horse on a true line, and started to veer into rival Mr Rigger.
To get focus back in the beast, Villanueva decided to push off his rival to re-establish a slender lead.
And while this move wouldn’t be found in a jockey’s handbook – it appeared to do the trick as Drinkroundthetruth was first past the post.
But the judges were clearly going to have none of it, and the horse and jockey were disqualified with Mr Rigger and Felipe Valdez promoted into first.
Writing on Twitter, Chris Crestik described what happened as “absolutely unbelievable”.
Zach Weber posted that it was “crazy” before adding that he “loves Ruidoso”.
Ginny Gustafson was seemingly fuming, writing “Really, WTH was that jockey doing>
“Suspension and fine should be next.”
Dave Batterbury was succinct in his thoughts, simply writing: “Rightfully DQed. Insane.”