fbpx
Tennis

Does the French Open final have a fifth set tie-break? Wimbledon, Australian Open and US Open final set rules

THE French Open final has reached a fifth set.

Novak Djokovic and Stefanos Tsitsipas are going at it hammer and tongs at Roland Garros.

Novak Djokovic has experienced his share of career five-setters

But what happens if the match reaches 6-6 in the fifth?

Here are the fifth set rules for all grand slams.

Does the French Open have a fifth set tie-break?

The French Open DOES NOT have a fifth set tie-break.

Following a change of the rules at Wimbledon, Roland Garros is now the only tournament where play continues until one player wins by two clear games.

Does the Australian Open have a fifth set tie-break?

The Australian Open DOES have a fifth set tie-break.

However, there is a twist.

In order to win the match, players must reach ten points in the tie-break rather than the usual seven.

Does the US Open have a fifth set tie-break?

Yes. The US Open has used a tie-break to decide all five-set matches since 1970.

Does Wimbledon have a fifth set tie-break?

Like the French Open, players at Wimbledon used to keep playing until there was a winner by two clear games.

However, this rule was changed in 2019 with tie-breaks now being played when a fifth set reaches 12-12.

And this format was used in the final the same year when Novak Djokovic triumphed over Roger Federer.

Wimbledon’s rule change means all four Grand Slams use a different format to decide five-set matches.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top