Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Sporting ExcitementSporting Excitement

Tennis

Wimbledon row erupts over ‘faulty hawkeye’ as Joe Salisbury and Rajeev Ram refuse to play on in doubles quarter-final

, Wimbledon row erupts over ‘faulty hawkeye’ as Joe Salisbury and Rajeev Ram refuse to play on in doubles quarter-final

A Wimbledon doubles quarter-final was briefly stopped when pair Joe Salisbury and Rajeev Ram REFUSED to return to the court following a marginal Hawkeye call.

A set up and with the score at 5-5 in the second, the No1 seeds thought they had clinched a vital break against Nicolas Mahut and Edouard Roger-Vasselin.

Salisbury, right, and Ram, left, were furious with the decision
This was how Hawkeye saw the line call towards the end of the second set

, Wimbledon row erupts over ‘faulty hawkeye’ as Joe Salisbury and Rajeev Ram refuse to play on in doubles quarter-final
The pair briefly refused to carry on playing as they called for Hawkeye to be turned off

Mahut and Roger-Vasselin challenged the call and were successful as Hawkeye showed their shot had touched the line – despite other replays showing that it was long.

Salisbury and Ram were left furious with the decision, with the latter shouting: “No way man! That is absolutely ridiculous.”

Salisbury then insisted they would not continue playing until Hawkeye was turned off – something umpire Fergus Murphy refused to do.

Ram went on: “There’s no way. No way at all. We’re turning the machine off. We’re not in the future here man.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

“There is NO chance that is in. You know it is wrong. Can you get the supervisor?”

A supervisor eventually came out and insisted they were investigating, before telling Salisbury and Ram to continue with the match.

They did so and went on to lose the second set 7-6.

The British-American duo managed to recover their composure in the third set to take it 6-1.

BETTING SPECIAL – LATEST OFFERS AND FREE BETS FOR WIMBLEDON

The supervisor re-emerged after three games of the third set to insist they believed the controversial call was correct.

To which Ram replied: “Really?!”

Their opponents refused to go away though and in the fourth it was Mahut and Roger-Vasselin who raced into a 3-0 lead.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Ram and Salisbury already have two Grand Slam doubles titles to their name.

They won the 2020 Australian Open and followed that up with a triumph at the 2021 US Open.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Latest

Premier League

Former Liverpool Player Turned Manager Accused of Misconduct FRENCH side Bordeaux has denied that manager Albert Riera SLAPPED an opponent during a post-match tunnel...

Premier League

Club Considers Options After Frustrating Match Nottingham Forest faced a tough defeat against Everton, with controversial decisions sparking outrage from the club and pundits...

Premier League

Worrying Moment at Goodison Park Former Liverpool player, Neco Williams, had a scary moment during a match at Goodison Park when he tripped backwards...

Boxing

Ryan Garcia's Unconventional Path to Victory Ryan Garcia wrapped up a turbulent week by defeating Devin Haney at Barclays Center in New York, capping...

Premier League

Embarrassing Defeat West Ham fans are demanding the sacking of David Moyes after their team suffered a humiliating 4-0 defeat to Crystal Palace, with...

Premier League

What Happened? Everton's match against Nottingham Forest was temporarily halted after a frightening clash of heads between Beto and Morgan Gibbs-White during stoppage time....

Advertisement
Advertisement

Facebook

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement